Empty Nest – Life after Kids

Yes, it does happen eventually!

Who knew? August 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — MT Nest @ 5:30 am

The past several months I have been very depressed. I didn’t realize just how depressed I’d been until I started feeling better. In recent days, I have noticed more energy and that constant black fog is no longer encompassing me. As I look back on the past several months, I can see how immobilized I was by depression.

I still went through my daily life, still got things done – but it was an effort, and there was no joy. Even in Haiti, in the midst of a spiritual renewal, there was still depression.  There was so much hopelessness, and honestly just thoughts of “I don’t want to do this anymore.” No plans, no desire to act on that thought, but it was there.

I hated feeling like that, but no matter how hard I tried I just could not break through that fog.

Recently I had some blood work done for a medical issue, and when it came back my Vitamin D level was low. Not enough that the doctor said anything about it, but I noticed it when going over my labs.

Looked up what it meant – and one of the symptoms of low Vit. D is depression.

So, I started immediately taking a supplement plus getting outside in the sun for at least 15 minutes a day.  After just a couple of weeks, I noticed an improvement in my attitude, in my spirit, in my energy level and thought processes.

Now that I’m working my way through that fog (I know I’m not all the way out of it yet) I can see how thickly wrapped in its tentacles I’d become. People had started asking me frequently if I felt okay. It is scary now, looking back, to see how insidious that fog is, and how it just sneaks up on you until it’s ensnared you in its grasp.

Praying for all those trapped by depression and hopelessness.

 

Leave a Reply

