Empty Nest – Life after Kids

Yes, it does happen eventually!

Going to Haiti! April 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — MT Nest @ 7:54 am

Yep! I’m going to Haiti. When I was 18, dating the man I married, going to nursing school, and having worked in 2 mission trips to Mexico, I wanted to go to a foreign country and serve my Lord as a missionary nurse.

That didn’t happen. We got married, I graduated from nursing school, and the Lord took my life in a different direction. We started our family, and God just didn’t call us to serve overseas. He didn’t even call me to practice nursing.

Thirty-four years later, the dream is now becoming a reality.

ONE DAY after I applied for my passport ‘just to have one’, I got a phone call that someone I know was going to Haiti. I made a comment about wanting to go. Not really meaning it, not thinking “I want to do this.”  The next day, he called me back and said they needed someone else for the trip. In less than 5 minutes, Mark and I talked it over and I said I’d go.

Remember, at that point I had applied for my passport just a few days prior. I was told passport processing was a 4-6 week process. The trip was in 8 weeks.

Two weeks from the day I applied, I had my passport in my hand.

If that wasn’t God confirming that I am meant to go on this trip, I don’t know what it is.

 

One Response to “Going to Haiti!”

  1. Miz Booshay Says:

    This is wonderful news!


Leave a Reply

