Empty Nest – Life after Kids

Yes, it does happen eventually!

Dipping my toe back in the blogging pool February 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — MT Nest @ 10:16 pm

Trying my hand at answering Linda’s meme.

1.Have you ever fired a gun or shot a bow and arrow?
I’ve shot a ‘real’ gun only once. I have a BB gun I use to run off the occasional animal. (We live in the country.) I’ve only shot a play bow and arrow, and that was a long long time ago.
2. Do you know where your childhood best friends are?
I had 2 ‘best friends’ growing up.  My best friend from my elementary years has passed away. My best friend from high school is now living in Lesotho, a country surrounded by South Africa.
3. Do you usually arrive early, late, or on time?
Early. Our music pastor says it best….”Early is on time, and on time is late.”

4. Are you more of a New York or California type?
Are you asking if I’m uptight or laid back? I’m more middle country.

5. Do you have a special ring tone?
I just set Brandon Heath’s “Give Me Your Eyes” as my ringtone. That song has special meaning to me. I run a non-profit dental clinic, and that is my prayer every day before we see patients. That I will see the patients through God’s eyes and love them with His heart.

6. What is your favorite type of chip?
Poker. Just kidding. I’m Baptist. 🙂  I think my all-time fav is BBQ although my current fav – and I try to stay far, far away – is Salt and Black Pepper.

7. Best comedy you’ve ever seen is ….
Questions like this stress me out. I don’t remember movies 30 minutes after I’ve seen them. So I don’t know.

8. Have you ever cut your own hair? To quote Dr. Phil, “How’d that work for ya?”
Why yes I have. If you count bangs. But that’s it.

9. If you were going to have an extreme makeover, would you rather it be about your house or your personal self?
Right now it would be my house.  I’m pretty satisfied with how I look. Right now.

10. Are you allergic to anything?
Yes. Dust, mold, mildew. I take allergy shots. And drugs.

11. Why is it so hard to change?
Shall I get on my soapbox? Change is hard because it’s not comfortable. It’s new. We – humans – are lazy. We want the easy way out, and anything having to do with change is NOT the easy way. Okay, I’ll get off now.

12. One last question dedicated to February love: CS Lewis said, “To love is to be vulnerable.” Please share one example of that assertion or share any thought you’d like to about this topic.
Hmmm….this could get very personal and very long.  Anyone who loves, who opens their heart, is vulnerable. You can’t love without being vulnerable. You just can’t.

 

6 Responses to “Dipping my toe back in the blogging pool”

  1. Thena Says:

    Love that song and the words to it. Salt & Pepper chips never heard of them, may have to look for them. Then again if there addictive maybe I shouldn’t. lol

  2. joyce Says:

    Hi…welcome to the random. I fall into the empty nest category too. Sigh.

    I liked your ‘chip’ answer : )

    Have a great day!

  3. Susan Says:

    Love, love, love Brandon Heath’s “Give Me Your Eyes”. Just saw him live and was BEYOND blessed! Wow, it’s so neat that you get to apply it every day.

    Blessings.

    Susan

  4. skoots1mom Says:

    running off occasional animals…my stepdad uses his bb gun to get after the coyotes.

    Lesotho: first time hearing of it

    go, non-profit dental clinic!! awesome
    God’s eyes…:)

    Salt and Black Pepper…so good!
    oh, allergy shots…yuck…And drugs…but thankful for them.
    Change: not comfortable,lazy…you nailed it

  5. Kristen Says:

    Yep…fellow country gal here who uses a BB gun to run off the occasional critter lol. Although I’ve never taken shots I can feel you on the (otc) drugs for allergies. 😉

  6. Nel Says:

    What great answers. Glad you joined us. I looked at some of your past posts… awesome. I love the turkeys! and I love what you said about loving your son but not his lifestyle. I can’t imagine how a parent could turn their back on their child. I have always believed you can love them, but you don’t have to like them or like what they are doing. I plan on returning. Stop by my corner if you get a chance.

    until next time… nel


Leave a Reply

